El Consell

Structure as an Institution

Members of the Governing Council

Currently, the Governing Council is made up of:

Carles Puigdemont i Casamajó

President of the Council for the Catalan Republic.
130th President of the Generalitat de Catalunya in exile.

Antoni Comín i Oliveres

Vice-president of the Council for the Catalan Republic. Member of the Parliament of Catalonia for Esquerra Republicana. Minister of Health of the Generalitat during the eleventh legislature.

Clara Ponsatí i Obiols

Professor of Economics at the University of St Andrews, Scotland. Minister of Education of the Generalitat during the eleventh legislature.

Lluís Puig i Gordi

Director of the Program for the Development of Cultural Projects of the International Area of the Department of Culture. Minister of Culture of the Generalitat during the XI Legislature.

Antoni Castellà i Clavé

Political Spokesman of Democrats of Catalonia and Member of Parliament.

Elisenda Paluzie i Hernández

Full Professor of Economics, University of Barcelona and President of the Catalan National Assembly.

Guillem Fuster i Usas

Technician in linguistic projects of the Platform for the Language. Coordinator of the political organization Poble Lliure.

Isaac Peraire i Soler

Sociologist Currently Mayor of Prats de Lluçanès and Deputy Secretary General of Internal Coordination, Territory and Organization of the Republican Left.

Neus Torbisco-Casals

PhD in Law from UPF, currently Senior Research Fellow at the Albert Hirschman Center for Democracy at the Graduate Institute (Geneva) and Professor in the Geneva Academy of International Humanitarian Law and Human Rights.

Marta Sibina i Camps

Founder of the magazine "Cafèambllet". Between 2016 and 2018, Deputy on the spanish Parliament for "Podemos-Catalunya en Comú" and currently a member of the political organization "Som Alternativa".

Carme Garcia i Suàrez

General Director of Democratic Memory in the Catalan Government (January 2016 to January 2019). Deputy in the Spanish Courts by ICV during the 2004/2007 and councilor of ICV in Sabadell between the 2007/2011 and 2011/2014. Member for two years of the National Secretariat of the ANC.

Toni Morral Berenguer

Founder of ICV and mayor of Cerdanyola del Vallès between 2003-2009. Secretary of the ANC during the period of Carme Forcadell presidency. He is currently a deputy of JxCat and General Secretary of the "Crida Nacional per la República", member of the Association Agreement of Left for the Catalan Republic and is part of the group of pro-independence of CCOO.

Aurora Madaula i Giménez

Doctor in contemporary history from the University of Barcelona (2017). He is currently a member of the XII legislature of the Parliament of Catalonia in the JxCat Parliamentary Group and a member of "Acció per la República".

Lluís Llach

Singer-songwriter, activist, Member of the Parliament of Catalonia of the XI legislature and was the president of the Commission for Studies of the Constituent Process.